Joaquin Martin

Hi, I found this Ascobolus in company of Cheilyme

14-07-2024 18:23

Joaquin Martin

Hi,I found this Ascomycete on horse dung.The spora

« < 1 2 3 4 5 > »
Possible Hyaloscyphaceae sp.
B Shelbourne, 23-01-2024 14:23
B ShelbourneI thought these tiny whitish ascomata look like a Hyaloscyphaceae sp., but it seems to be a difficult and broad group. I have no experience with the distinguishing characters and couldn't find any recent key to the genera. Any feedback appreciated.

There are some similarities to Hyaloscypha minuta, but the spore size (in particular) seems to be aberrant. I have more material, but the size makes it quite difficult to manipulate the ascomata and it would help to know which features to focus on.

The hairs look quite short or scarce (not noticeable under stereoscope) and plain, but the paraphyses seem Hyaloscypha-like (filiform without VBs). I couldn't match the features well with any species in Huhtinen's monograph on Hyaloscyphus (croziers, hemiamyloid rings, spore size), and I also considered Hyphodiscus (Hyphodiscaceae), but the disc isn't smooth, and the hairs don't seem right.

Habitat: Observed in January, on decaying (unidentified) deciduous wood, decorticated and often blackened parts, small pile of logs, presumably hygric, shady area, mixed deciduous woodland, southern England.

Associates: Several types of conidia found around base, many ascomata arising from or close to dematiaceous spore mat, on the same pile of logs - Calycina cf. citrina (previously), Lachnum impudicum, Orbilia eucalypti (previously), Trichoderma strictipile (aged ascomata), Mollisia sp., Peniophora sp.

Preparation: Stored for a day in a damp container attached to wood, slides prepared from two ascomata, sections attempted but only some success with second ascomata, progressively squashed, mounted in tap water or KOH with IKI or CR applied afterwards.